Relationship Damages Due To Technology…

Please help me to understand,… (I’m a dad, and maybe I just don’t!)  Is there any conversation within families anymore? Any personal interaction? It may be just me…my perception or the situations I’ve been around lately, but…seems to me people, especially families will do anything not to communicate face to face. 

I have been paying much closer attention every time I go out now.  The last few meals out, I have kept a close eye on the interaction of the people at the tables around me.  I swear on a plate of spaghetti and meatballs that the dinner goers are much more fascinated and enthralled with whatever gadget they have available than talking to the incredible people who are with them. 

It’s the cell phone…  If not the cell phone it’s the smart phone or the kindle or the DS or any combination of them all.  

There was a family of 4 at a local pizza joint the other day and they sat with their heads buried in data from the minute they crossed the threshold of the restaurant to the second they walked out and beyond.  They did take a breather to slurp down some sloppy pizza pie…If there was an APP that would feed them…I’m sure they would use it. 

Am I missing something…what is so darn important to be constantly in close communication with whoever is on the other line? Oh yeah…they must be solving the fiscal crisis or formulating an attack plan to finally secure world peace… 

Now I’m sure there are some important conversations going on out there but look at it this way…what if we took the time to really be present with our spouses and children and friends and associates.  Really took some time to focus on them.  Actually got to know people.  To me that would be a grass roots place to start to move change in this world.  Everything starts with the quality of relationships.  It would be a much healthier alternative both socially and physically as well. 

Dr Mercola on his website has some eye opening articles on the dangers of cell phone and techie devices.  Now I’m no polly anna…of course I see the need for these things in the way society operates today…but I really believe one of the keys to a happier more holistic way of living is to take those precious moments we have together to really connect.

Leave a comment